top of page
Search
  • manasbajaj2awesome

The Info-Dump.

Updated: Mar 28, 2020

Oh man, I've been wanting to talk about this for a while. School, as a whole, has so many problems that I could write a book about it. However, I'be decided to approach all of them individually. I'll try to be impartial, but no promises. You see, nowadays, being in school is like being in pain; you only understand it as long as you are feeling it. After you graduate, the memory of school fades away until you remember that you were in pain once, but you don't remember how it felt anymore. By the time someone has enough power to change something, their memory of it is distant and colorless. The only way that change will come is if we, the people suffering under this, do it ourselves.

In this one, I'm gonna talk about the useless information we cram into our brains every single day. First, in the spirit of sportsmanship, I'll give the system a fighting chance by listing all the positives. I'll be generous and say that due to this, we get access to a vast amount of information that can be useful in some circumstances. After all, you never know when you'll have to recite the French Constitution to deactivate the bomb strapped to your chest.

Then we can talk about how it helps us to choose out fields of interest at an early age. Everyone knows that a kid who always hated science will start to love it when he has been forced to study it to the molecular level.

And that's it. Literally. For the life of me, I can't think of any more positives about memorising information that is irrelevant and will probably remain irrelevant for the rest of our lives. We have Google, people. If we need to know who George Washington's father was, we can find it out in less than a minute. But don't listen to me. I'm just a kid who doesn't know anything and us just spewing nonsense. Alright, then. Let's listen to a publicly acknowledged genius, Albert Einstein.(I did my research for this.) Albert never bothered to memorize something that he could look up in under two minutes. I can only imagine how much stress and brainspace he saved with this.

What the adults don't remember is that education is not copy-pasting facts into your mind. It's learning, discovering what we want to do. Education is an experiment. What we do today is teach people how to think. Originality is forbidden. The purpose of school has become to make us into perfect little robots. No matter how sad we are inside, we have to behave like everything is fine. Well, its not fine. Its not fine that we have to learn subjects we have no interest in. Its not fine that we can't do what we want because that will make us different. Well, we're all different, whether the world likes it or not. And we will remain that way. Because we're not our ancestors.

Alright, guys I'm ending it here, before it turns into too much of a rant.


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Respect and other issues

One of the major hurdles during any major change, I've realised, is respect. I'm not talking about respect as in respecting each other's views and choices and such. I'm talking about the rule that has

bottom of page