top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJules Whisler

Words From Almost Teens

I won't sit quietly! We have a voice! We may be young but we will be heard. We are young but we have faced war, Trump's presidency, Mental illness, unfair rights for LGBTQIA+ and woman and people of color. We have faced climate change, anti-feminists and so much more. Isn't it sad that kids, tweens, and teens so young, are already fed up with the world. We might not have a world for OUR kids. Its gotton so bad that it's up to tweens and teens to save the world already. The sad thing is that we can't vote, we can't make the big decisions. So yeah we will fight back. We will take a chance to make a change in this crappy world. Talk to your friends, family, anyone. Spread the word. Stay strong, you are loved. -@Juliebeanbags

_-----------_

Everyday, I wake up and I look around to see what's going to happen today as dread fills me when I realize I have to go to school. For years, we have been told that we are what we think, say or do is important, that we are important. But how are we supposed to think that when we are told what to do and what to think and what to say for more than 12 years, sitting behind a desk with a pencil in your hand and anxiety and worthlessness running through your thoughts? Because in all raw honesty, I don't feel safe. I don't feel safe in my school or around any adults because I know that if I speak my thoughts, I would be ignored. I have learned that no one will listen to you until you yell and even then, you're pushed aside. For years, I have felt worthless and stupid, and it's all because if our world and it's stereotypes. I may have only lived for 12 years, but in those twelve years, I have seen so much pain and destruction that I never got to be a kid, not anyone in Generation Z has. We're not our parents, it's time to change the world for once and for all. We're all a little messed up, but we're beautiful and strong, it's time we start standing up for our rights.

-@BurningGlory

_-----------_

I'm tired and I only just began state testing. Not to become a child's rights activist out of nowhere but this needs to be said while it's in my head. All state testing and the grading system is just an incorrigible self-deprecating system that drives most of today's youth to the point of insanity and frankly, this needs to change. How are we supposed to trust adults when they place a label on us and expect us to stay there? I frankly, can't. I can't go to an adult and expect and respect and kindness when there is none because children should just be heard and not seen. Because I can't write much in this board, I'm just going to leave on this message. If we want our world to change, we all need to work together for a better world for not only ourselves but for future generations as well. We want a happy ending? We have to work for it and treat each other as equals, so if there are any ideas, feel free to leave them on my message board or contact me. Remember, you are so much more than a test score or a grade, you're alone and your heart is beating for a reason, don't let our messed up school system and world take that away, we all are this society's hope.

-@BurningGlory

_


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Respect and other issues

One of the major hurdles during any major change, I've realised, is respect. I'm not talking about respect as in respecting each other's views and choices and such. I'm talking about the rule that has

bottom of page